Joe Doran and Dolores Cahalan Cups 2017

Joe Doran Cup 2017

Kate Heduan and Eamon Murtagh are the 2017 Joe Doran Cup winners. Kate and Eamonn defeated Claire Ley and Brian McGahey in the final on Friday night last.

The event, which runs alongside the Dolores Cahalan Cup, is in memory of the late Joe Doran who served on the club committee. At the presentation Nenagh LTC President Margaret Folan, who informed us that she in fact was a student of Joe’s at Nenagh CMS, welcomed Joe’s son Michael Doran to the club for the final.

We’ve been looking into the past re the inter-firms over the past week or it’s appropriate that we should similarly do so re the Joe Doran Cup. This year was the 32nd running of the event. The first occasion was in October 1986 and the winners were Ber Cavanagh and Tom Darcy. Runners-up were Grace Gilmartin and Bill Lonergan.

Ber Cavanagh won again in 1987, this time with Kevin O’Carroll and the runners-up were Brigid Corrigan and Pat Treacy. Ber in fact was later to win it a 3rd time, one of the few to win it 3 times.

Dolores Cahalan Cup 2017

Tanya Beattie and Liam Flannery are the latest names to be added to the Dolores Cahalan Cup at Nenagh LTC. Tanya and Liam overcame the challenge of Assumpta O’Kelly and Will Murphy in the final on Friday night last. Emma and Niamh Calahan, daughters of the late Dolores, and Eileen Molloy (sister of Dolores) were welcomed to the club by Margaret Folan, and Emma and Niamh presented the cup to Tanya and Liam.

The annual event runs in tandem with the Joe Doran Cup, being available in alternate years to different collective grades, and at the presentation of both cups Eamonn Murtagh spoke on behalf of all who played on both, complimenting organisers Club Captains Pauline Ryan and David Hackett, and others who contributed to the success and enjoyment of both events.

Nenagh players to the fore at Limerick Lawn Vets

Limerick Lawn hosted their annual South of Ireland Vets tournament the weekend of the 23rd-24th April and once again Nenagh players featured amongst the finals.  And who else but those whose positive results we’re reporting on all Spring – Frank O’Keeffe, Deirdre McSherry and Lena O’Connor.

Frank won a mens’ doubles event (with Mike Warren), Deirdre joined Deirdre Collins (LLTC) to win one event and was r-up with Lena O’Connor in another.  Madeline Kelly (Killaloe-Ballina) was r-up with Rose Houlihan (Ballypatrick) in another event.

These are busy times for Frank, Deirdre and Lena who were also in Scotland the May bank holiday weekend for the Four Nations Vets tournament involving England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland. More information, draws and results here.