Leinster Titles for Deirdre and Lena!

Deirdre McSherry was a dual winner in her section at the Leinster Open Veterans’ Tennis Championships at Kilkenny weekend 3rd-5th November.   Deirdre put in impressive string of results together en route to both both singles and doubles titles.  In singles, (seeded 1), she defeated second seed Jennifer Haugh (Sunday’s Well), 6/3, 4/6, 10/7 in an absorbing singles final.

The same ladies were in opposition in the equivalent doubles final, and again Deirdre, playing with Dublin lady Sheila Kilduff, ascended the winners’ rostrum.  Jennifer was playing with fellow Sundays Well member Un Ryle.

Meanwhile, Lena O’Connor was equally impressive in her age group, winning the ladies doubles with Ashleigh McVeigh (Belfast), without loss of a set in their 3 matches.  In mixed, playing with another Ulster player, Andrew Moore, the pair were runners-up in tight and long mixed decider, 4/6, 6/4, 5/10.


Cinnamon Alley Café Junior Finals

The Cinammon Alley Café sponsored Junior Doubles League concludes with semi-finals and finals on this Saturday 18th Nov.


Finals Night of the  ‘Classic’, kindly sponsored by Tadgh O’Flynn Jewellers

The finals night of the Tadgh O’Flynn Team Tennis ‘Classic’ was an enjoyable affair at the Nenagh club on Friday 3rd November.  Indeed the whole tournament was by general consensus most enjoyable.  Players (including quite a number of visiting players) were drawn into graded teams and given names of countries, films (mostly horror) and confectionary and while winning was undoubted the intention of most, there was a general sense of participation and determination to enjoy the tennis. The tournament also marked the introduction of the new upgraded floodlights.

Joint Club Captains and chief organisers of the ‘Classic’ Pauline Ryan and David Hackett did the honours at presentation on Friday night, welcoming Tadhg O’Flynn and offering the sincere thanks of all to Tadhg and Evelyn for their generous sponsorship of another successful event at the club.


Section I

Winners:  Denmark (Chris Collins, Simon Whelehan, Sinead O’Meara, Kate Heduan)

R-up:  Columbia (Alan Darcy, Agris Strods, Beatrice Morrissey, Richelle Treacy)


Section II

Winners:  Rocky (Michal Dziewiatka, Conor Hyland, Aine McCarthy, Mary Minogue)

R-up:  Terminator (James Kennedy, Mick Molloy, Willie Percy, Catherine O’Meara, Gemma Flynn)


Section III

Winners:  Aero  (Liam Williams, Dave Canny, Fidelma Seymour, Catriona Callanan)

R-up:  Skittles (Liam Karol Flannery, Michael Slattery, Claire Brown, Siobhan Corcoran)