Munster Winter League Finals tomorrow Sunday 26th March

All tennis roads will lead to Catholic Institute tomorrow Sunday 26th March for the Munster Winter League Finals.  Nenagh will feature in 4 finals, representing a highly commendable achievement indeed for the club. We wish all 4 teams well and encourage your support.  Play will start at 9.30 on Sunday and continue throughout the day with detail on the Nenagh LTC Facebook page.

The Nenagh teams in action will be Anne-Marie Darcy, Lena O’Connor, Frank O’Keeffe and Robert Carkill in the Gr 1 final.  They’ll play Douglas. (Matches at 12.30pm & 5pm)

The Gr 3 men’s team (Mike O’Brien, George Hayes, Martin (Frolic) Ryan, Don McClean) face St Anne’s Waterford. (Matches at 9.30am & 2pm)

The Gr 5 Ladies ‘A’ team of Lena Grace, Kate McKenna, Eimear Gleeson and Richelle Treacy will face Limerick Lawn. (Matches at 9.30am & 2pm)

And the Gr 6 Ladies (Emma Kearns, Jennifer Lynch, Ciara Cairns, Therese Brophy) will take on Carrigaline. (Matches at 9.30am & 2pm)

Nathan Advances

Nathan Slattery, playing in his first year in the U.14 age group, continued his good form of 2016 when advancing to the National Matchplay finals without loss of a set at the regional play-offs at Claremorris over last weekend.  The national finals will take place on the weekend after next.  Nathan joins fellow Nenagh member Alicia White in the finals.  Alicia will be playing in the U.12 finals, as will Aiden Foley (Killaloe-Ballina) and Emma Foley (also Killaloe-Ballina) who will play in the U.18’s.

Enjoyable Quiz Night

Many thanks to all those who supported another fantastic fun Quiz Night. Over 30 tables were kept on their toes by quizmaster Donie Nealon.  This night was an important fundraiser in support of the ambitious development plans in place at the club and the committee would like to extend sincere thanks to all those who attended/donated/contributed spot prizes/or volunteered in other ways towards such a great night. A speciall thanks also to the clubs sponsors and corporate friends.

For the record, the winning team were Tom Walsh, Mike Molloy, Gemma Flynn and Pauline Ryan.  Looking forward to next year’s already, and we believe Tom is swatting up already to retain his title.  In fairness, Cork people are starved of titles, especially team titles in certain sports these days!